Glin GAA Notes
Glin GAA club would like to wish all our members, supporters and friends a Happy New Year.


Glin GAA AGM is scheduled for the 13th of January 2017, at 9pm in the clubhouse. All are welcome to attend. All nominations and proposals should be submitted to the secretary of the club 7 days prior to the AGM (6th Jan 2017).

1958 County Junior Final

As the winter time is a quieter period for Gaelic games, over the next few weeks, we will reflect on past triumphs beginning with the 1958 County Junior Final.

Glin 2-6

Hospital 1-1

Despite the heavy condition of the pitch, Glin and Hospital footballers served up rousing football in the final of the County Junior completion played at the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday (December 14th), Glin winning deservedly by 2-6 to 1-1. There was a big attendance for a game so late in the season with gate receipts totalling over £40, and they saw a rousing struggle, with both teams given vocal assistance by the big number of supporters. Glin came in the final as West champions after beating Kilcolman/Ardagh in October, 1-5 to 0-6. The first half was even enough and when the interval arrived Glin were leading by 1-3 to 1-1. The closing thirty minutes saw Glin forcing the pace and their fifteen proved too strong as the game advanced. Their defence was especially formidable and boasted outstanding players in full back, Frank Burke, corner backs, Michael O’Leary and Tom McKeon, and halves Dan Culhane, Martin McNamara and Jimmy Dillane. The winner’s midfield pair of Moss Meade and Tom Houlihan dominated the exchanges and gave their attack numerous good scoring opportunities. Their fielding of the sodden ball was especially noteworthy. The attack had to fight hard for every score against the hard tackling Hospital rearguard that fought gallantly against the faster opposition. Glin had grand forwards in Seán Finn (captain), Michael Adams, Tim O’Connor, Michael Dillane and Eamon O’Connor. Some of their combined movements were quite good considering the lateness of the season and the underfoot conditions.

Hospital fought very sportingly although they were beaten by a better equipped team. Forwards to catch the eye for them were Michael and Eamon Murphy, and Pat Lavery. Garda Pat Silke was an efficient referee. The chairman of the County Board, Mr. Pat O’Reilly, presented the cup to the captain of the winning side, Seán Finn, amid scenes of enthusiasm. He congratulated the winners on their grand display and referred also to the gallant showing of Hospital. He said that the display that day by both teams was a credit to the Association. The Glin team received a great welcome on their arrival home on Sunday night and the members were feted by enthusiastic supporters. The victorious Glin panel that year was E. Stack, M. O’Leary, T. McKeon. F. Burke, M. McNamara, D. Culhane, J. Dillane, T. Houlihan, M. Meade, M. Adams, E. O’Connor, M. Dillane, T. O’Connor, S. Finn, S. O’Connell, P. Fitzgerald, P.Healy.

Click here to Reply, Reply to all, or Forward
0.21 GB (1%) of 15 GB used
Last account activity: 3 hours ago


People (2)
Add to circles

Show details
Get a Gmail custom address (you@yourcompany)
Recommended for business email users
Get started
This entry was posted in All Glin News.... Bookmark the permalink.