1995 County Intermediate Final

Part five of our look back through the years moves forward a few decades to one of the great achievements of the modern era for the Glin club, the capture of the 1995 County Intermediate title.

Glin 2-7
Galtee Gaels 0-7

When Shane Fitzgerald lifted the intermediate football cup at Ballygran last Sunday evening (August 19th), the cheers could be heard all the way back to the Shannon Estuary. Glin had lost eight county finals in recent years but with a display of determination and a fair share of footballing skills, they overcame the challenging of a determined Galtee Gaels team and were full value for the two goal advantage when referee, Willie O’Mahony of Oola blew the final whistle to end an enjoyable game. It was a brace of first half goals that laid the foundations of this Glin success. The first came after just six minutes when Peader Mulvihill field a kick out and found Liam Long on the 40, who then set up Seánie Culhane, and the left half forward thundered through the retreating Galtee Gaels defence to blast the ball to the net past a helpless Pat Luddy. Glin had to wait until the 28th minute for their second goal, but what a fine score it was. Building from midfield, they wove a pattern through the Gaels defence and when the impressive Liam Long got possession, he sent a cracking shot with the right boot into the net to put his side ahead by 2-3 to 0-3. Galtee Gaels started promisingly and in the early exchanges looked the better side but poor finished was to be eventually their downfall. Against the run of play, Glin opened the scoring when Michael McMahon set up Pádraig Hogan for a well taken point on the left. Seánie Culhane put them four points ahead two minutes later with Glin’s first goal before Galtee Gaels got on the score sheet with a point.

Glin were much faster to the ball all over the field, with the half backline of Shane Fitzgerald, Michael McMahon and Maurice Reidy holding a tight rein on the Gaels’ dangerous half forwards. A swift movement downfield brought another Glin score, this time Kieran Adams fielded well on the right and sent sweetly between the posts to put his side ahead, 1-2 to 0-1 after nine minutes play. With John Lynch looking particularly impressive on the left, Glin continued to create most of the openings. Galtee Gaels, with John Quane in the middle of the field, continued to huff and puff, but they did not have the fluency to convert their attacks into scores. Glin, on the other hand, were taking their chances and when Liam Long sent between the posts, his side had five points to spare. Ned Quane and Joe Mullins got on the score sheet before the Glin reply came instant and lethal. A through ball found Liam Long for a goal and now Glin were in a comfortable lead, 2-3 to 0-3- a margin they were to hold until the final whistle. The Gaels fought back with a Mullins point but it was Glin who had the last score of the half when Seánie Culhane struck a ground ball over the bar to leave the half time score, Glin 2-4, Galtee Gaels 0-4.

The second half was a tight affair, with Gaels getting two point through pointed frees form Ned Quane. Noel Culhane then came for Glin, while Seán Hennessy was brought on by Galtee Gaels. With Glin now leading by four points, the Gaels were awarded a penalty. Ned Quane drove the spot kick over the bar to close the gap to three points.  From the kick out, the ball broke loose in midfield and when Liam Long brushed off a few tackles, he showed good composure to dive accurately between the posts to give Glin some breathing space. A minute later Glin were five points in front when Seánie Culhane again found space and sent the right-footed shot over the bar to bring the score to 2-6 to 0-7. Glin had the last say when substitute Gavin O’Connor evaded two tackles and though under pressure, sent cleanly over the bar for the final score of the night and give Glin a trophy that few will deny them after their long wait.

Following the fame, the cup was presented by Brendan Danaher, chairman of the Limerick County Board, to Shane Fitzgerald, captain of the Glin team. The chairman congratulated both sides on their sporting display and wished the club well in the senior grade next year.

Glin Panel: Mike McLoughlin, David Fitzgerald, Tom O’Sullivan, John Lynch, Shane Fitzgerald, Michael McMahon, Maurice Reidy, Peader Mulvihill, Paul Currivan, Declan Reidy, Liam Long, Seánie Culhane, Pádraig Hogan, Noel Mulvihill, Kieran Adams, Noel Culhane, Gavin O’Connor, Keith O’Sullivan, Shane Adams, Pádraig Mulvihill, Billy Sweeney, John Connolly, Seán Lyons. Mentors: John A. Culhane, Tom Connolly.

This entry was posted in All Glin News.... Bookmark the permalink.