Glin Gaa


Our annual AGM took place in the clubhouse last Friday night with a good turnout in attendance. The following officers were re-elected- Chairperson: James O’Donovan, Treasurer: Nollaig Hogan, Vice-Chairperson/Treasurer: Jack Dunne, Secretary and Registrar: Alan O’Donovan, Vice-Secretary: Ger Lyons, PRO: Kieran Scanlon, Club Development Officer: Seán Lyons, West and County Board Delegates: Joe McGrath, Johnny Lyons and Jack Dunne, Club Children’s Officer: Dave Fitzgerald. Training will recommence in the upcoming weeks and new players are very welcome to join. Membership for the 2018 season will be collected over the next few weeks.

West Board All-Stars

Following on from our West championship wins this year, congratulations to Shannon Gaels’ Brendan Stack and Karol O’Sullivan who won West Limerick U21 A and Minor All-star awards respectively at the West Board Awards recently.

Glin GAA History

This week’s look back concerns our national school team from 1983.

Glin N.S. 1-5

Castlemahon N.S. 1-2

Congratulations to St. Fergus NS football team who won the School League final recently for the second year in succession. The local schoolboys played outstanding football and were worthy winners over Castlemahon N.S.

The game, played in Newcastle West, was a hard-fought but sporting encounter between two evenly matched teams. In the end the Castlemahon boys had no answer to the combination, determination and tradition of the boys in black in white, and the Glin school won 1-5 to 1-2.

The Glin back-line never panicked under pressure and Donal O’Sullivan’s long kicking, Anthony Fitzmaurice’s hand passing and Michael Lynch’s high fielding of the ball kept the Castlemahon score to a minimum.

Billy Sweeney in goals handled very safely throughout while Michael Mulvihill, Edmund Meade and Michael O’Shea were seldom found wanting. The forward line combined very well and had the Castlemahon defence under constant pressure with creative hand passing movements and accurate shooting. Gerard Martin and Denis Daly played exceptionally well and were well supported by Joseph Danaher, Darren Tabor and young Niall Mulvihill.

The game however was won and lost at midfield where Billy Martin and Anthony Scanlon displayed the courage, skill and fighting spirit which are always associated with Glin football.

Anyone who had the pleasure of watching the great victory will have been rest-assured that football in Glin is not only alive and well but flourishing within the parish.

Team: Billy Sweeney, Donal O’Sullivan, Anthony Fitzmaurice, Michael Lynch, Michael Mulvihill, Eddie Meade, Michael O’Shea, Billy Martin (capt., 0-2),  Anthony Scanlon, Gerard Martin (1-1), Denis Daly (1-1), Joseph Danaher (0-1), Darren Tabor, Niall Mulvihill. Trainer: John A. Culhane

This entry was posted in All Glin News.... Bookmark the permalink.